Timezone: »

Hannah Korevaar · Manish Raghavan · Ashudeep Singh · Fernando Diaz · Chloé Bakalar · Alana Shine

Author Information

Hannah Korevaar (Meta Platforms)
Manish Raghavan (MIT)
Ashudeep Singh (Pinterest)
Fernando Diaz (Google)

Fernando Diaz is a research scientist at Google Brain Montréal. His research focuses on the design of information access systems, including search engines, music recommendation services and crisis response platforms is particularly interested in understanding and addressing the societal implications of artificial intelligence more generally. Previously, Fernando was the assistant managing director of Microsoft Research Montréal and a director of research at Spotify, where he helped establish its research organization on recommendation, search, and personalization. Fernando’s work has received awards at SIGIR, WSDM, ISCRAM, and ECIR. He is the recipient of the 2017 British Computer Society Karen Spärck Jones Award. Fernando has co-organized workshops and tutorials at SIGIR, WSDM, and WWW. He has also co-organized several NIST TREC initiatives, WSDM (2013), Strategic Workshop on Information Retrieval (2018), FAT* (2019), SIGIR (2021), and the CIFAR Workshop on Artificial Intelligence and the Curation of Culture (2019)

Chloé Bakalar
Alana Shine (Meta)
Alana Shine

Alana is a research scientist at Meta working within the Responsible AI organization on fairness in recommender systems. Prior to coming to Responsible AI, she completed a Computer Science PhD under David Kempe at the University of Southern California working on generative graph models.

More from the Same Authors