Timezone: »

A Ranking-based, Balanced Loss Function Unifying Classification and Localisation in Object Detection
Kemal Oksuz · Baris Can Cam · Emre Akbas · Sinan Kalkan

Tue Dec 08 08:20 AM -- 08:30 AM (PST) @ Orals & Spotlights: Vision Applications

We propose average Localisation-Recall-Precision (aLRP), a unified, bounded, balanced and ranking-based loss function for both classification and localisation tasks in object detection. aLRP extends the Localisation-Recall-Precision (LRP) performance metric (Oksuz et al., 2018) inspired from how Average Precision (AP) Loss extends precision to a ranking-based loss function for classification (Chen et al., 2020). aLRP has the following distinct advantages: (i) aLRP is the first ranking-based loss function for both classification and localisation tasks. (ii) Thanks to using ranking for both tasks, aLRP naturally enforces high-quality localisation for high-precision classification. (iii) aLRP provides provable balance between positives and negatives. (iv) Compared to on average ~6 hyperparameters in the loss functions of state-of-the-art detectors, aLRP Loss has only one hyperparameter, which we did not tune in practice. On the COCO dataset, aLRP Loss improves its ranking-based predecessor, AP Loss, up to around 5 AP points, achieves 48.9 AP without test time augmentation and outperforms all one-stage detectors. Code available at: https://github.com/kemaloksuz/aLRPLoss .

Author Information

Kemal Oksuz (Middle East Technical University)
Baris Can Cam (Middle East Technical University)
Emre Akbas (Middle East Technical University)
Sinan Kalkan (Middle East Technical University)

Related Events (a corresponding poster, oral, or spotlight)

More from the Same Authors

  • 2018 : Lunch & Posters »
    Haytham Fayek · German Parisi · Brian Xu · Pramod Kaushik Mudrakarta · Sophie Cerf · Sarah Wassermann · Davit Soselia · Rahaf Aljundi · Mohamed Elhoseiny · Frantzeska Lavda · Kevin J Liang · Arslan Chaudhry · Sanmit Narvekar · Vincenzo Lomonaco · Wesley Chung · Michael Chang · Ying Zhao · Zsolt Kira · Pouya Bashivan · Banafsheh Rafiee · Oleksiy Ostapenko · Andrew Jones · Christos Kaplanis · Sinan Kalkan · Dan Teng · Xu He · Vincent Liu · Somjit Nath · Sungsoo Ahn · Ting Chen · Shenyang Huang · Yash Chandak · Nathan Sprague · Martin Schrimpf · Tony Kendall · Jonathan Richard Schwarz · Michael Li · Yunshu Du · Yen-Chang Hsu · Samira Abnar · Bo Wang