Timezone: »

Learning from Trajectories via Subgoal Discovery
Sujoy Paul · Jeroen Vanbaar · Amit Roy-Chowdhury

Wed Dec 11 05:00 PM -- 07:00 PM (PST) @ East Exhibition Hall B + C #206

Learning to solve complex goal-oriented tasks with sparse terminal-only rewards often requires an enormous number of samples. In such cases, using a set of expert trajectories could help to learn faster. However, Imitation Learning (IL) via supervised pre-training with these trajectories may not perform as well and generally requires additional finetuning with expert-in-the-loop. In this paper, we propose an approach which uses the expert trajectories and learns to decompose the complex main task into smaller sub-goals. We learn a function which partitions the state-space into sub-goals, which can then be used to design an extrinsic reward function. We follow a strategy where the agent first learns from the trajectories using IL and then switches to Reinforcement Learning (RL) using the identified sub-goals, to alleviate the errors in the IL step. To deal with states which are under-represented by the trajectory set, we also learn a function to modulate the sub-goal predictions. We show that our method is able to solve complex goal-oriented tasks, which other RL, IL or their combinations in literature are not able to solve.

Author Information

Sujoy Paul (UC Riverside)
Jeroen Vanbaar (MERL (Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories), Cambridge MA)
Amit Roy-Chowdhury (University of California, Riverside, USA )

More from the Same Authors

  • 2018 : Coffee Break 1 (Posters) »
    Ananya Kumar · Siyu Huang · Huazhe Xu · Michael Janner · Parth Chadha · Nils Thuerey · Peter Lu · Maria Bauza · Anthony Tompkins · Guanya Shi · Thomas Baumeister · André Ofner · Zhi-Qi Cheng · Yuping Luo · Deepika Bablani · Jeroen Vanbaar · Kartic Subr · Tatiana López-Guevara · Devesh Jha · Fabian Fuchs · Stefano Rosa · Alison Pouplin · Alex Ray · Qi Liu · Eric Crawford
  • 2018 : Coffee Break and Poster Session I »
    Pim de Haan · Bin Wang · Dequan Wang · Aadil Hayat · Ibrahim Sobh · Muhammad Asif Rana · Thibault Buhet · Nicholas Rhinehart · Arjun Sharma · Alex Bewley · Michael Kelly · Lionel Blondé · Ozgur S. Oguz · Vaibhav Viswanathan · Jeroen Vanbaar · Konrad Żołna · Negar Rostamzadeh · Rowan McAllister · Sanjay Thakur · Alexandros Kalousis · Chelsea Sidrane · Sujoy Paul · Daphne Chen · Michal Garmulewicz · Henryk Michalewski · Coline Devin · Hongyu Ren · Jiaming Song · Wen Sun · Hanzhang Hu · Wulong Liu · Emilie Wirbel