Timezone: »

Coded Distributed Computing for Inverse Problems
Yaoqing Yang · Pulkit Grover · Soummya Kar

Mon Dec 04 06:30 PM -- 10:30 PM (PST) @ Pacific Ballroom #225 #None
Computationally intensive distributed and parallel computing is often bottlenecked by a small set of slow workers known as stragglers. In this paper, we utilize the emerging idea of ``coded computation'' to design a novel error-correcting-code inspired technique for solving linear inverse problems under specific iterative methods in a parallelized implementation affected by stragglers. Example machine-learning applications include inverse problems such as personalized PageRank and sampling on graphs. We provably show that our coded-computation technique can reduce the mean-squared error under a computational deadline constraint. In fact, the ratio of mean-squared error of replication-based and coded techniques diverges to infinity as the deadline increases. Our experiments for personalized PageRank performed on real systems and real social networks show that this ratio can be as large as $10^4$. Further, unlike coded-computation techniques proposed thus far, our strategy combines outputs of all workers, including the stragglers, to produce more accurate estimates at the computational deadline. This also ensures that the accuracy degrades ``gracefully'' in the event that the number of stragglers is large.

Author Information

Yaoqing Yang (Carnegie Mellon University)
Pulkit Grover (CMU)
Soummya Kar (Carnegie Mellon University)

More from the Same Authors

  • 2021 Poster: Can Information Flows Suggest Targets for Interventions in Neural Circuits? »
    Praveen Venkatesh · Sanghamitra Dutta · Neil Mehta · Pulkit Grover
  • 2018 : Posters (all accepted papers) + Break »
    Jianyu Wang · Denis Gudovskiy · Ziheng Jiang · Michael Kaufmann · Andreea Anghel · James Bradbury · Nikolas Ioannou · Nitin Agrawal · Emma Tosch · Gyeongin Yu · Keno Fischer · Jarrett Revels · Giuseppe Siracusano · Yaoqing Yang · Jeff Johnson · Yang You · Hector Yuen · Chris Ying · Honglei Liu · Nikoli Dryden · Xiangxi Mo · Yangzihao Wang · Amit Juneja · Micah Smith · Qian Yu · pramod gupta · Deepak Narayanan · Keshav Santhanam · Tim Capes · Abdul Dakkak · Norman Mu · Ke Deng · Liam Li · Joao Carreira · Luis Remis · Deepti Raghavan · Una-May O'Reilly · Amanpreet Singh · Mahmoud (Mido) Assran · Eugene Wu · Eytan Bakshy · Jinliang Wei · Michael Innes · Viral Shah · Haibin Lin · Conrad Sanderson · Ryan Curtin · Marcus Edel